Mandatory Minimums for Convictions of Driving Under the Influence in New Jersey

 

First Offense – BAC 0.08% but less than 0.10%

• 3 months driving privilege suspension

• $250-$400 fine

• $230 IDRC* fee

• $100 to drunk driving fund

• $100 to AERF*

• $1,000/year (for 3 years) MVC surcharge

• $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

• 12-48 hours at intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)

• Maximum 30 days imprisonment

 

First Offense – BAC 0.10% or higher

• 7-12 months driving privilege suspension

• $300-$500 fine

• $230 IDRC* fee

• $100 to drunk driving fund

• $100 to AERF*

• $1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge

• $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

• 12-48 hours at intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)

• Maximum 30 days imprisonment

• BAC 0.15% or greater: ignition interlock device for 6- 12 months following restoration.

 

Second Offense

• 2 year driving privilege suspension

• $500-$1000 fine

• $280 IDRC* fee

• $100 to drunk driving fund

• $100 to AERF*

• $1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge

• $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

• 12-48 hours at intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)

• 48 hours to 90 days imprisonment

• 30 days community service.

• Ignition interlock device for 1 to 3 years following restoration

 

Third Offense

 • 10 year driving privilege suspension

• $1000 fine

• $280 IDRC* fee

• $100 to drunk driving fund

• $100 to AERF*

• $1,500/year (for 3 years) surcharge

• $75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

• 12-48 hours at intoxicated driver resource center (IDRC)

• 180 days imprisonment

• 90 days community service.

• Ignition interlock device for 1 to 3 years following restoration

 

Notes:

  • A second offense more than 10 years after the first offense will be sentenced as a first offense
  • A third offense more than 10 years after the second offense will be sentenced as a second offense
  • *IDRC – Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • *AERF – Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund

 

 

Last Updated 1/14/2012

4 Thoughts to “New Jersey DUI DWI Fines and Penalties”

  1. […] defense team because the client had four separate arrests for driving while intoxicated.  The penalties for a DWI conviction in New Jersey are severe.  Anyone who is convicted of a third or subsequent offense for driving […]

  2. […] client’s licence was restored plus other fines and costs.  You can review the penalties for a DWI conviction in New Jersey by clicking […]

  3. […] have been arrested and charged with DWI in a New Jersey Municipal Court. You are not sure of the DWI consequences but you know you need the help of a lawyer.  You are not sure where to begin to hire a competent […]

  4. […] DWI law in New Jersey is complex.  When it comes to DWI sentencing in New Jersey, having a complete understanding the “ten year step down rule” is essential.  The 10 year step down rule allows a second DWI conviction to be treated a a first conviction if the first conviction was more than 10 years prior to the second conviction.  For example a second DWI conviction in New Jersey  will result in a mandatory 2 year loss of licence where a first DWI conviction can result in as little as a 3 month loss of driving privilege.  You can review the NJ DWI penalties by clicking here. […]

Comments are closed.